Let’s Review: The Boston Girl

Hub Challenge book #2 is over and done with! Woo hoo!

I’m going to paste my review from Goodreads, because while I liked most of this book, it’s not a favorite, and I’m not sure how much you guys are into historical fiction anyways.

It’s hard to say how much of this book I really liked since I was reading the ebook, so I’ll say that I liked most of the book, but I felt the last few chapters skipped a lot, and the ending was very abrupt.

Addie is 85 years old, and she’s telling her granddaughter the story of her life. The story really mostly focuses on her teen years and her twenties. She was a Jewish girl born at the turn of the century to immigrant parents who were still very suspicious of their new country. Addie, though, embraced being American and being a “modern” woman. The story is told in a series of vignettes, some absolutely heartbreaking, and I kept forgetting that I was reading fiction and not someone’s memoir.

I only gave three stars because of the abruptness of the ending and because as wonderful as the writing is, this is a very character-driven novel, so I didn’t feel the rise and fall of the climax and resolution. Regardless, I still recommend it for the insight into what it was like to be teenage girl in the Prohibition era. Despite all of the struggles that exist for women today, I’m certainly glad I don’t live 100 years ago!

The Boston Girl by Anita Diamant is a Top Ten Young Adult Fiction winner for the Amelia Bloomer list for feminist literature. Check out the rest of the list here.

♥ Heather, Youth Services Librarian

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, etc., Reviews

Leave a Reply

