Why Do You Like Kpop?

*sighs*

Over the years, I’ve gotten this question more times than I can count, and it’s usually accompanied with one of these faces:

aragorn ain't havin none of ur shit

Here’s my answer:

I got into Kpop in the sixth grade. I was 11, so I hadn’t really had the time to form a prejudice against music I whose lyrics I didn’t understand upon the first listen. Because of that, I never formed a prejudice against music in other languages, and since I never have had that prejudice, I don’t understand why other people do. Liking kpop or any music in another language makes sense to me because I don’t remember much of my life before then aside from Winx Club and the Jonas Brothers. That, and I sing in other languages in choir all the time, so is there any real difference in listening to it?

Now I listen to kpop because it’s opened so many doors for me. I don’t know if I’d be the culture-crazed person I am today without it. I’ve made friends through kpop, and I’m not afraid to try new things like foods (I’m a picky eater, or at least I’m apprehensive about what I put into my mouth), experiences, and other cultures, as well.

Plus — come on — have you seen some of these idols?

tumblr_mm1gk5QMRI1ri9q53o1_500
(this princess was actually named the most beautiful woman of 2014 in this video) (Nana of After School and its subgroup Orange Caramel)

tumblr_inline_n8ao7dcBOw1s8iaqg
wow what a cutie (Zelo from BAP)

Honestly, kpop has opened my mind so much as to what I do, who I hang out with, how I look at other aspects of life, etc. That’s why I’m bad at answering the “why do you like kpop” question. Then perhaps a better question would be: why don’t you like kpop?

Until Next Time,
Shelby

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

