About the Teen: Shelby

Hey all! I’m the TAG Historian, meaning I help with supplies and take pictures at events. Nim and I coordinate as well as Kirk and I since we do similar things. I’m one of the “original” members I guess, pulled in via Samantha. I’ve done a grand total of two reviews (Fangirl and Harken) and once I finish rereading The Kite Runner, you can probably expect another one from me! In the meantime, however, here’s a bit about me:

Basics:

  • Junior in high school
  • 17
  • In choir for 6 years now
  • One day younger than Shreya *shakes fists in air out of frustration*
  • Like Samantha, I’m an activist in several things (although I’m quiet about many so as to not upset my bigoted family)

My Favorites:

  • Genre – I’m really not all that picky, but it admit I judge books by their cover. If the cover has a decapitated girl on it (see vlogbrothers Rant on Books on YouTube), that’s an immediate turnoff for me. Also, while I’m not picky on genre, I find that I’ll read one or two sentences of a summary and put books back with a disgusted look on my face. Oops!
  • Field of Study – I consider myself a scientist, as I’m really good at physics and chemistry, and I really love social sciences such as sociology, psychology, and philosophy. I’m constantly conducting social experiments, and if you talk to me for more than five minutes about it, I’ll probably day “I have a theory” more times than you can count.
  • Hobbies – I love writing. It is my absolute passion and I’ve always known it’s what want to do with my life. In tangent to that, I love reading. I own 200+ books last time I counted, and it’s near impossible for me to leave a book store empty-handed. Photography is up there as well, but I haven’t photographed anything in a while. You can find both writings and photographs of mine at dreamamongstars.deviantart.com should you want to
  • Foods/Drinks – Anyone who knows me at all knows the two things I need to survive are chicken and banana milk – don’t knock it till you try it!
  • Books – The Great Gatsby, Life As We Knew It, Between Shades of Gray, and many more
  • Authors – Ellen Hopkins, F Scott Fitzgerald, Ernest Hemingway, Ruta Sepetys, and more…
  • Shows/Movies/Musicals/Operas – My Mad Fat Diary, BBC Sherlock, Doctor Who, Supernatural, Star Trek, Lord of the Rings, Titanic, V for Vendetta, Phantom of the Opera, Love Never Dies, The Producers, Repo! The Genetic Opera, Die Tote Stadt, Rise of the Guardians, etc
  • Music – Really anything that sparks my interest, but my playlist is predominately Kpop and Jrock; go ahead and judge – I’m used to it

Once I graduate, I’d like to study Creative Writing and anything else I can get my hands on (slash pay for). I’m not quite sure what I want to minor in, yet, but I feel like one of them will be something to do with choir, and I’ll probably get a double minor with something else. Who knows?

So that’s me for the most part I guess. I hope you look forward to seeing all of us in the future!

Leave a comment

Filed under About the Teens

Leave a Reply

