Let’s Review: The Legend Series

Image

Ok, time to freak out. CHAMPION COMES OUT IN LESS THAN A WEEK!!!!!!!!! If you haven’t read Marie Lu’s Legend series, you don’t know what you’re missing out on. This is the BEST dystopian series I have read in my entire life! (And as you can see, I get very emotional about this series ;D) Before Champion releases, let’s take a look at Legend and Prodigy!

SPOILER ALERT

Legend (Book 1)

In Legend, we meet our two lovely characters, Daniel (Day) Altan Wing and June Iparis (Ih-Pah-Ris) and get introduced to the setting. This is set way in the future (think 2120-ish) where America has broken into two countries, the Republic and the Colonies. June and Day are from the Republic and both are very different. June is the Republic’s prodigy, the only one to pass her trial with a perfect score of 1500 (The Trials are like tests to judge your mental and physical abilities to see if the Republic can make you into a soldier). June is described with long brown hair and brown/golden eyes. Personally, I’ve cast Daniela Ruah as June (Come on, Dani is simply perfect)

Image

Day is the Republic’s Most Wanted Criminal and is the prime suspect for killing June’s brother. Later, June discovers that Day also has a perfect score in his trial. Day is describe with long blonde hair and blue eyes and I’ve cast Eric Christian Olsen as Day (Once again, perfection)

Image

June goes undercover in the slums and just her luck, she gets stabbed. A mysterious boy rescues her and she has no clue that it’s (drumroll)…… Day! June and Day spend some time together and share a kiss. Later, June  reports back to her commander about Day and Day’s family is captured and his mother is killed. June later snoops through the servers and realizes that her friend Thomas killed her brother, not Day. She rebels and she and Day escape as Day’s older brother sacrifices himself for the two.

My thoughts about Legend

I loved Legend so much and I was hooked when I finished. Lucky for me, my ELA teacher had Prodigy reserved for me, and I immediately grabbed it to read. Legend was just perfect. In the beginning, I really thought that Day had killed Metias (June’s brother) and I felt for June, and when I re-read it, I found those sneaky little foreshadowing clues which made me go, “Oh my god. You’re an idiot.” I loved the hints of a brewing romance between our protagonists!

Prodigy (Book 2)

We pick up from where we left off and find June and Day in Las Vegas on the run. Day is injured and both protagonists are trying to find the Patriots while looking like a Republic soldier and a high-class “doll” from the Bellagio. They finally find the Patriots and join them in the mission to get close, then assassinate the Elector. As the story runs along, Day and June’s relationship gets weaker and weaker with all the conflict of Day’s old friend, Tess, acknowledging her love for Day and June having to get close to the Elector, Anden. They later realize the Patriots had been playing them, and they quickly reconcile with the Republic before damage is done. Day convinces the citizens to support Anden and is rewarded with a high military position only to find out that he is dying from a brain tumor caused by a strain of the virus he was injected with after his trial. June is offered a high government job called the Princeps Elect (similar to a Vice-President) and she is very doubtful about taking it, knowing that usually the Elector marries the Princeps. Day tells her to take the job and forget about him and the book ends with one last kiss between the two.

My thoughts on Prodigy

Can I just sob for a minute? The book was a bit slow in the beginning, but it picked up its pace and left me bawling in the end. No really. I finished it in my ELA class, and I started crying in the middle of class. Everyone heard my sniffles and saw me reading with tears running down my cheeks. This was the most heartbreaking story I have read and it was absolute perfection!

Champion thoughts

IT’S ALMOST HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

